Media Release



Catholic Education SA puts a freeze on fees

As South Australians continue to feel the impact of COVID-19, Catholic Education SA has announced it will freeze fees at its 86 Diocesan schools for the 2023 school year.

In 2023, schools fees will remain unchanged at:

- 62 diocesan Catholic primary schools
- 2 special schools St Patrick's and Our Lady of La Vang
- 22 diocesan secondary and combined colleges

The announcement comes as over 1,200 Reception students are preparing to commence at a Catholic primary school as part of the free midyear intake. Families who have children commencing Reception in July will pay no school fees in Term 3 and Term 4 in 2022.

"These decisions are part of our continued COVID-19 response as we seek to support families at a time when they are being impacted by rising costs and inflation," says Dr Neil McGoran, Director, Catholic Education SA.

"Amongst all the worries that families have at this time – worrying about the payment of school fees should not be one of them."

Dr McGoran said the fee-freeze would not impact the quality of education.

Since 2019, Catholic Education SA has been implementing the *Making Catholic Education More Affordable Initiative* to ensure our schools are accessible to any family who wants their child to have a Catholic education. "We've introduced a range of initiatives, including widespread fee reductions, a low income fee for families on modest incomes, and a free midyear intake for Receptions."

In 2021, all diocesan Catholic primary schools reduced fees by an average of 15%.

In 2022, all diocesan Catholic primary schools froze their fees and diocesan secondary and combined colleges reduced fees by 1% to 7%.

The decision to freeze fees again in 2023 will provide welcome relief to families.

"We're committed to keeping school fees as low as possible and ensuring a Catholic education is affordable and accessible to all."

In addition to the fee-freeze, further fee remissions and reductions are available to any family who is struggling to pay school fees due to financial pressures. Families should contact their school for more information.

Media contact: Shannon Short 0438 516 523

Schools included in the fee freeze are listed below

ALL SAINTS CATHOLIC PRIMARY SCHOOL	SEAFORD	(R-6 COED)
ANTONIO CATHOLIC SCHOOL	MORPHETT VALE	(R-6 COED)
CARDIJN COLLEGE	NOARLUNGA	(7-12 COED)
CARDIJN COLLEGE GALILEE	ALDINGA	(R-9 COED)
CARITAS COLLEGE	PORT AUGUSTA	(R-12 COED)
CATHERINE MCAULEY SCHOOL	CRAIGMORE	(R-6 COED)
CHRIST THE KING SCHOOL	WARRADALE	(R-6 COED)
COMPASS CATHOLIC COMMUNITY	DAVOREN PARK	(11-12 COED)
DOMINICAN SCHOOL	SEMAPHORE	(R-6 COED)
EMMAUS CATHOLIC SCHOOL	WOODCROFT	(R-6 COED)
GLEESON COLLEGE	GOLDEN GROVE	(7-12 COED)
HOLY FAMILY CATHOLIC SCHOOL	PARAFIELD GARDENS	(R-6 COED)
IMMACULATE HEART OF MARY SCHOOL	BROMPTON	(R-6 COED)

MARY MACKILLOP MEMORIAL SCHOOL	PENOLA	(R-6 COED)
MCAULEY COMMUNITY SCHOOL	HOVE	(R-6 COED)
MERCEDES COLLEGE	SPRINGFIELD	(R-12 COED)
MOUNT CARMEL COLLEGE	ROSEWATER	(R-12 COED)
NAZARETH CATHOLIC COLLEGE	FINDON	(R-12 COED)
OUR LADY OF GRACE SCHOOL	GLENGOWRIE	(R-6 COED)
OUR LADY OF HOPE SCHOOL	GREENWITH	(R-6 COED)
OUR LADY OF LA VANG SCHOOL	FLINDERS PARK	(Ages 5-20 COED)
OUR LADY OF THE RIVER SCHOOL	BERRI	(R-6 COED)
OUR LADY OF THE SACRED HEART COLLEGE	ENFIELD	(7-12 GIRLS)
OUR LADY OF THE VISITATION SCHOOL	TAPEROO	(Pre-6 COED)
OUR LADY QUEEN OF PEACE SCHOOL	ALBERT PARK	(R-6 COED)
ROSARY SCHOOL	PROSPECT	(R-6 COED)
SAINT DAVID'S PARISH SCHOOL	TEA TREE GULLY	(R-6 COED)
SAMARITAN COLLEGE	WHYALLA	(R-12 COED)
SCHOOL OF THE NATIVITY	ABERFOYLE PARK	(R-6 COED)
ST ALBERT'S CATHOLIC SCHOOL	LOXTON	(R-6 COED)
ST ANTHONY'S CATHOLIC PRIMARY SCHOOL	MILLICENT	(R-6 COED)
ST ANTHONY'S SCHOOL	EDWARDSTOWN	(R-6 COED)
ST AUGUSTINE'S PARISH SCHOOL	SALISBURY	(R-6 COED)
ST BARBARA'S PARISH SCHOOL	ROXBY DOWNS	(R-9 COED)
ST BERNADETTE'S SCHOOL	ST MARYS	(R-6 COED)
ST BRIGID'S CATHOLIC SCHOOL	EVANSTON	(R-6 COED)
ST BRIGID'S SCHOOL	KILBURN	(R-6 COED)
ST CATHERINE'S SCHOOL	STIRLING	(R-6 COED)
ST COLUMBA'S MEMORIAL SCHOOL	YORKETOWN	(R-7 COED)
ST FRANCIS DE SALES COLLEGE	MOUNT BARKER	(R-12 COED)
ST FRANCIS OF ASSISI SCHOOL	NEWTON	(R-6 COED)
ST FRANCIS OF ASSISI COLLEGE	RENMARK	(7-12 COED)
ST FRANCIS SCHOOL	LOCKLEYS	(R-6 COED)
ST FRANCIS XAVIER'S REGIONAL CATHOLIC SCHOOL	WYNN VALE	(R-6 COED)
ST GABRIEL'S SCHOOL	ENFIELD	(R-6 COED)
ST JAMES SCHOOL	JAMESTOWN	(R-6 COED)
ST JOHN BOSCO SCHOOL	BROOKLYN PARK	(R-6 COED)
ST JOHN THE APOSTLE PARISH SCHOOL	CHRISTIES BEACH	(R-6 COED)
ST JOHN THE BAPTIST CATHOLIC SCHOOL	PLYMPTON	(R-6 COED)
ST JOSEPH'S MEMORIAL SCHOOL	NORWOOD	(R-6 COED)
ST JOSEPH'S PARISH SCHOOL	GLADSTONE	(R-6 COED)
ST JOSEPH'S SCHOOL	BARMERA	(R-6 COED)

ST JOSEPH'S SCHOOL	CLARE	(R-9 COED)
ST JOSEPH'S SCHOOL	HECTORVILLE	(Pre-6 COED)
ST JOSEPH'S SCHOOL	KINGSWOOD	(R-6 COED)
ST JOSEPH'S SCHOOL	MURRAY BRIDGE	(R-9 COED)
ST JOSEPH'S SCHOOL	OTTOWAY	(Pre-6 COED)
ST JOSEPH'S SCHOOL	PAYNEHAM	(Pre-6 COED)
ST JOSEPH'S SCHOOL	PETERBOROUGH	(R-9 COED)
ST JOSEPH'S SCHOOL	PORT LINCOLN	(R-12 COED)
ST JOSEPH'S SCHOOL	RENMARK	(R-6 COED)
ST JOSEPH'S SCHOOL	TRANMERE	(Pre-6 COED)
ST JOSEPH'S SCHOOL	WEST HINDMARSH	(Pre-6 COED)
ST MARGARET MARY'S SCHOOL	CROYDON PARK	(Pre-6 COED)
ST MARK'S COLLEGE	PORT PIRIE	(R-12 COED)
ST MARTIN DE PORRES SCHOOL	SHEIDOW PARK	(R-6 COED)
ST MARTIN'S CATHOLIC PRIMARY SCHOOL	GREENACRES	(R-6 COED)
ST MARY MACKILLOP SCHOOL	WALLAROO	(R-9 COED)
ST MARY MAGDALENE'S SCHOOL	ELIZABETH GROVE	(R-6 COED)
ST MARY'S MEMORIAL SCHOOL	GLENELG	(R-6 COED)
ST MONICA'S PARISH SCHOOL	WALKERVILLE	(R-6 COED)
ST PATRICK'S SCHOOL	MANSFIELD PARK	(R-6 COED)
ST PATRICK'S SPECIAL SCHOOL	DULWICH	(Ages 5-20 COED)
ST PATRICK'S TECHNICAL COLLEGE	EDINBURGH NORTH	(10-12 COED)
ST PIUS X SCHOOL	WINDSOR GARDENS	(R-6 COED)
ST RAPHAEL'S SCHOOL	PARKSIDE	(R-6 COED)
ST THERESE PRIMARY SCHOOL	COLONEL LIGHT GARDENS	(R-6 COED)
ST THOMAS MORE SCHOOL	ELIZABETH PARK	(R-6 COED)
ST THOMAS' SCHOOL	GOODWOOD	(Pre-6 COED)
STAR OF THE SEA SCHOOL	HENLEY BEACH	(R-6 COED)
STELLA MARIS PARISH SCHOOL	SEACOMBE GARDENS	(R-6 COED)
TENISON WOODS CATHOLIC PRIMARY SCHOOL	RICHMOND	(R-6 COED)
TENISON WOODS COLLEGE	MOUNT GAMBIER	(R-12 COED)
THOMAS MORE COLLEGE	SALISBURY DOWNS	(7-12 COED)
WHITEFRIARS SCHOOL	WOODVILLE PARK	(R-6 COED)
XAVIER COLLEGE	GAWLER / TWO WELLS	(R-12 COED)